Haggard Hawk

by Douglas Watkinson

Douglas Watkinson’s “Haggard Hawk” introduces readers to the character of Nathan Hawk, a former police officer who finds himself at a loose end after being fired for breaking a fellow officer’s jaw. Unsure of what to do with his life, Hawk spends his days worrying about his grown-up children, who are scattered across the globe.

However, his life takes an unexpected turn when a neighbour in the village he has retired to is murdered. While the tragedy is certainly lamentable, for Hawk it’s a stroke of luck. The investigation gives him a sense of purpose and a chance to put his skills to the test once again.

Despite the warnings of the local police, Hawk can’t resist the temptation to investigate the case himself. His wit and tenacity soon lead him down a dangerous path, as he unravels a complex web of lies and deceit. The case takes him from the quaint English countryside to the seedy underbelly of London, as he delves deeper into the mystery.

Hawk is a complex and multi-layered character, known for his wit and fiery temper. In “Haggard Hawk,” he is tasked with solving a murder case involving the disappearance of a young woman. The case takes him through a series of twists and turns, leading to the unearthing of a web of deceit, secrets, and betrayal.

Watkinson’s expertise in crime and mystery writing is evident throughout the book, as he keeps the reader on edge with his masterful pacing and unpredictable plot twists. The character development is top-notch, with Hawk’s flaws and strengths playing a crucial role in the story.

As a writer with extensive experience in television and film, Watkinson’s writing style is fast-paced and cinematic, making “Haggard Hawk” an engaging and immersive reading experience. Fans of crime fiction will find plenty to love in this book, and Nathan Hawk is sure to become a favourite character among readers.

“Haggard Hawk” is a masterfully crafted crime novel that marks the beginning of a thrilling series. With its captivating characters, gripping plot, and beautiful setting, this book is a must-read for fans of crime and mystery fiction. Douglas Watkinson’s writing is sharp, witty, and engaging, making “Haggard Hawk” a perfect choice for anyone looking for a thrilling and entertaining read.

The Nathan Hawk Mysteries

Douglas Watkinson Is An English Novelist, Playwright And Screenwriter.
Douglas cannot remember a time when he didn’t write and has written literally hundreds of television scripts, contributing to many popular series. Among his favourites are Lovejoy, Boon, Forever Green, Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Midsomer Murders. The latter’s worldwide audience numbers a staggering one billion people.

Douglas is the author of The Nathan Hawk Mysteries, a series of crime novels. They celebrate the unpredictable Nathan Hawk - a sacked police officer turned private investigator.

As well as the Nathan Hawk stories, Douglas has recently published a standalone novel, The Occasional Jonas Kemble. It tells the story of a beleaguered theatrical dynasty with a problem they need to solve before it destroys them.

Douglas was born into an army family and his father served throughout World War II and beyond. He was killed in Palestine in 1947. His death was the inspiration for one of several stage-plays, The Wall, in which a middle aged man visits a military cemetery in Ramleh, Israel and meets a young British soldier who turns out to be his father.

Educated at Haberdashers' Aske's, Douglas then attended East 15 Acting School where his first plays were performed. Whilst there he met his wife Lesley and they now live in Buckinghamshire countryside with their two German Shepherd dogs. Their four grown up children have left home. Allegedly.


Related Titles

Terrible Brothers by author Calum Kerr

Terrible Brothers

Hawk At The Crossroads book by author A J Aberford - ISBN

Hawk At The Crossroads

Bullets In The Sand book by author A J Aberford - ISBN9781913793739

Bullets In The Sand

Bodies In The Water book by author A J Aberford - ISBN9781913793715

Bodies In The Water

The Occasional Jonas Kemble book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497000

The Occasional Jonas Kemble

Time Bomb book by author Philip Davies - ISBN9781739859107

Time Bomb

Khanjar book by author Woody James - ISBN9781739738402


White Crane book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497062

White Crane

Easy Prey book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497048

Easy Prey

Jericho Road book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497123

Jericho Road

Evil Turn book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497109

Evil Turn

Scattered Remains book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497086

Scattered Remains

The Man Who Murdered His Stag book by author Stefan Le Roy - ISBN9781739625139

The Man Who Murdered His Stag

The Poison Within the Family book by author Peter Regan - ISBN9781916879508

The Poison Within the Family

On Prescription Only book by author Joan Vincent - ISBN9780995568235

On Prescription Only

Price's Price book by author Chris Maden - ISBN9789887565918

Price’s Price

Dark Energy book by author Tom Boles - ISBN9798512080726

Dark Energy

Indigo Dares book by author S R Summers - ISBN9781916148086

Indigo Dares

Stockwell Story book by author Richard Whittlesey - ISBN9781838383409

Stockwell Story

Beach Town: Apocalypse book by author Thomas Maxwell-Harrison - ISBN9781916373208

Beach Town: Apocalypse

Probably Dead book by author Ed Church - ISBN9781916324673

Probably Dead

Look Down book by author Ed Church - ISBN9781916324649

Look Down

Aden to Zanzibar book by author R David - ISBN9781838082505

Aden to Zanzibar

The Llareggub Lagoon book by author Graham Tottle - ISBN9781654540102

The Llareggub Lagoon