Evil Turn

by Douglas Watkinson

In the captivating continuation of the Nathan Hawk Murder Mysteries, “Evil Turn” by renowned TV scriptwriter Douglas Watkinson delivers a chilling tale rife with deception, betrayal, romance, and a gruesome murder. Known for his work on hit shows like The Bill, Poirot, and Midsomer Murders, Watkinson once again showcases his knack for crafting enthralling narratives featuring the sharp-witted and volatile British detective, Nathan Hawk.

“Evil Turn” plunges readers headfirst into a gripping crime thriller that immediately commands their attention. When an old police colleague enlists Hawk’s help in providing shelter for a trial witness in a double homicide case involving two trawlermen, Hawk finds himself entangled in a web of intrigue. The young Irish witness is escorted by two police officers: a captivating young woman and the grizzled Sergeant Bill Grogan.

Amidst the suspense, Hawk’s romance with Dr. Laura Peterson continues to blossom, while his daughter’s love life crumbles, prompting her return from Japan to seek solace and support from her father. As the story unfolds, readers will be enthralled by the numerous twists and turns that culminate in a shocking conclusion that leaves even the astute Hawk unprepared.

Douglas Watkinson’s “Evil Turn” is an enthralling and unmissable addition to the Nathan Hawk Murder Mysteries series, certain to delight fans of British detective novels. With its engrossing storyline, complex characters, and nail-biting suspense, this compelling crime thriller will hold readers captive until the final, stunning revelation. Don’t miss out on this must-read masterpiece from a master of British crime fiction.

The Nathan Hawk Mysteries

Douglas Watkinson Is An English Novelist, Playwright And Screenwriter.
Douglas cannot remember a time when he didn’t write and has written literally hundreds of television scripts, contributing to many popular series. Among his favourites are Lovejoy, Boon, Forever Green, Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Midsomer Murders. The latter’s worldwide audience numbers a staggering one billion people.

Douglas is the author of The Nathan Hawk Mysteries, a series of crime novels. They celebrate the unpredictable Nathan Hawk - a sacked police officer turned private investigator.

As well as the Nathan Hawk stories, Douglas has recently published a standalone novel, The Occasional Jonas Kemble. It tells the story of a beleaguered theatrical dynasty with a problem they need to solve before it destroys them.

Douglas was born into an army family and his father served throughout World War II and beyond. He was killed in Palestine in 1947. His death was the inspiration for one of several stage-plays, The Wall, in which a middle aged man visits a military cemetery in Ramleh, Israel and meets a young British soldier who turns out to be his father.

Educated at Haberdashers' Aske's, Douglas then attended East 15 Acting School where his first plays were performed. Whilst there he met his wife Lesley and they now live in Buckinghamshire countryside with their two German Shepherd dogs. Their four grown up children have left home. Allegedly.


Related Titles

Terrible Brothers by author Calum Kerr

Terrible Brothers

Hawk At The Crossroads book by author A J Aberford - ISBN

Hawk At The Crossroads

Bullets In The Sand book by author A J Aberford - ISBN9781913793739

Bullets In The Sand

Bodies In The Water book by author A J Aberford - ISBN9781913793715

Bodies In The Water

The Occasional Jonas Kemble book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497000

The Occasional Jonas Kemble

Time Bomb book by author Philip Davies - ISBN9781739859107

Time Bomb

Khanjar book by author Woody James - ISBN9781739738402


White Crane book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497062

White Crane

Haggard Hawk book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497024

Haggard Hawk

Easy Prey book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497048

Easy Prey

Jericho Road book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497123

Jericho Road

Scattered Remains book by author Douglas Watkinson - ISBN9781915497086

Scattered Remains

The Man Who Murdered His Stag book by author Stefan Le Roy - ISBN9781739625139

The Man Who Murdered His Stag

The Poison Within the Family book by author Peter Regan - ISBN9781916879508

The Poison Within the Family

On Prescription Only book by author Joan Vincent - ISBN9780995568235

On Prescription Only

Price's Price book by author Chris Maden - ISBN9789887565918

Price’s Price

Dark Energy book by author Tom Boles - ISBN9798512080726

Dark Energy

Indigo Dares book by author S R Summers - ISBN9781916148086

Indigo Dares

Stockwell Story book by author Richard Whittlesey - ISBN9781838383409

Stockwell Story

Beach Town: Apocalypse book by author Thomas Maxwell-Harrison - ISBN9781916373208

Beach Town: Apocalypse

Probably Dead book by author Ed Church - ISBN9781916324673

Probably Dead

Look Down book by author Ed Church - ISBN9781916324649

Look Down

Aden to Zanzibar book by author R David - ISBN9781838082505

Aden to Zanzibar

The Llareggub Lagoon book by author Graham Tottle - ISBN9781654540102

The Llareggub Lagoon